We are a diverse community of scholars with passionate commitments to intellectual engagement in the classroom, in collaborative research with our students, and in the many events that bring invited speakers to campus throughout the year. The Division of the Humanities comprises six departments — art, English, foreign languages & literaturesmusic, philosophy, and religious studies — offering a total of 10 majors.



Students have a wide variety of academic interests to explore in the humanities.

Read about our departments


Faculty in the humanities collaborate in interdisciplinary centers and programs supporting student research interests that combine the best of our programs with those offered by the divisions of social sciences, natural sciences, and engineering.

Learn more about the humanities


Pardee Hall hosts most departments in the humanities, which also are supported by the magnificent Skillman Library. Others are served by the Williams Center for the Arts, the Williams Visual Arts Building, and the Experimental Printmaking Institute, soon to be joined by buildings for theater and film & media studies in the Williams Arts Campus.

Read more about our facilities